Book related questionnaire, once again

I found this on www.monkeybearreviews.com who found it on www.bookbinge.com. You know I love a good questionnaire! And I love books!
 
Which book has been on your shelves the longest?
Probably someting I got during my senior year in college from the little card store on Philadelphia Ave. in Indiana Pa. Or is that Phila. Street? It’s been over 10 years, I honestly can’t remeber now! Either that or that certain young adult vampire series I read in high school that is still in print over 16 years later.
 

What is your current read, your last read and the book you’ll read next? I just finished "Body by Night" by Zuri Day. Love it!  I loved that the heroine was a full figured gal who was not trying to lose weight to fit some pre-conceived notion of what’s attractive but because she geniunely realized her health was in danger and set about to save herself from an early grave. It helps that the hunky personal trainer is around to help out. Don’t know what I’m reading next. I have the truckload of library books to get thru. The even bigger load of RT swag books to get through plus just the even bigger than that truckload of books in my house that I have yet to read.

What book did everyone like and you hated? Street lit. I just can’t get into it!

Which book do you keep telling yourself you’ll read? That big giantic TBR pile that is known as the majority of books in my house and in my office.

Which book coming out in 2009 is top priority to read? "Hidden Currents" by Christine Feehan. It’s the last in the Drake Sisters series so I’ve been looking forward to Elle’s story since book 2.

Last page: read it first or wait ’til the end? Depends on the author and the type of book. With traditional romances, you know the couple is going to be together by the end of the book. It’s just how do they get to that point is the fun of the journey. I very rarely read ahead in an L.A. Banks book. I think I read ahead a little in "the Wicked" but her books are so engrossing and so detailed that I know in order to understand anything, I gotta read through. Now some books I can just do a quick skim read and be done with them. Her VHL & CM series are not those. And I rarely read the end in ebooks. Sometimes, but not often.

Acknowledgements: waste of ink and paper or interesting ? I find them interesting. They give you a little insight into the author.

Which book character would you switch places with? I have no idea b/c they have all gone through some stuff. Like while Eve Dallas’ life with her gazillion handsome husband would be great, she went through a lot of pain and abuse to get to that point. Who wouldn’t want to be Damali and have Carlos fighting at her side and whatnot, but that’s a lot of drama she has to go thru to get to that point. I maybe wouldn’t mind being a Drake sister. Not Elle b/c there’s no way I’d want to give birth to 7 girls. Or Joley since she might be having 7 boys. Libby’s life seems interesting. I like her brains and how she uses her powers to help and heal. And she’s kind of shy like me so I can live with it. I kind of like Sasha in the Crimson Moon novels. She gets to turn into a wolf and she gets Hunter. Plus she kicks a**! Not bad. Too many characters to chose from. And those are mostly continuing series folks. One shot characters are unfortunately gone in my mind after a while.

Which Authors do you want to read that you haven’t yet? Half the stacks of TBR in my house and office. But ones that I don’t own anything by, probably David Rivera, but I’m bias b/c my shero L.A. Banks is promoting him. Noire maybe. I have to finally read Pat Simmons. I got her first book so that’s a step in the right direction. The bulk of those ebooks on my PC from Harlequin, Ellora’s Cave and Fictionwise. Lots of folks there I’ve never read before.

Which books are still on your shelf from when you were in school? L.J. Smith’s vampire series first published in 1991.  It’s still in print and she recently released a sequel with Elena, Stefan, Damon and the gang! I started wearing silver and lapis lazuli b/c of that series. Also, Anne Rice. I started trying to read her in high school, but didn’t really suceed utnil college.

Which book has been with you to the most places? My Anne Rice books: The Vampire Chronicles (at least the first 3 in the series), the Mayfair Witches, The Mummy. And probably my first Sandra Brown book.

Any “required reading” you hated in high school that wasn’t so bad ten years later? I didn’t mind reading stuff for school. I haven’t tried Frankenstein again though. It was sooooo boring!  Don’t know if I could.

Stephen King or Anne Rice? I’ve read both. Haven’t read either one lately. I read more Stephen King in HS and early college years. More Anne Rice in college and post college. I re-read hers more often so I guess she gets my vote.

Used or brand new? Whatever is on sale or free!!!! Two of my favorite four letter words! I don’t care if the cover is muffed up. As long as I can still read the words, I’m good.

Have you ever seen a movie you liked better than the book? Hands down Carrie! The book was boring, but the movie still has the shock value.

Who is the person whose book advice you’ll always take? Emily and Rolanda. Neither one of them has steered me wrong yet.

Recommend a series/ or book: Do I even bother stating the obvious – L.A. Banks Vampire Huntress Legend Series!!!!!

That’s all for now folks! Of course I spend way too much time with books, but what can I say. I love books! I love reading and hopefully that will never change. As my dearly departed father once said, books are my thing.

 

About stommieblu

A 40 something daughter whose Mother died of Alzheimer's Disease. I plan on using this as a place to vent my frustrations and sadness. And I probably will post other stuff.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

